An organization for collectors, artists, and producers to share information about pop-up books



For two decades The Movable Book Society has honored the best in paper engineering through its awards program.

Welcome to the Neighborwood by Shawn Sheehy – the winner of the 2016 Meggendorfer Award for Best Paper Engineering

2018 Awards

  • 2018 Meggendorfer Prize for Best Paper Engineering – Trade Publication. The Movable Book Society presents the Meggendorfer Prize for Best Paper Engineering for the most outstanding commercially published pop-up or movable book at its biennial conference. The nominated book must have been issued in the two preceding years (January 1, 2016 to December 31, 2017). The award honors Lothar Meggendorfer (1847-1925), a legendary 19th century illustrator and movable books paper engineer.
  • Meggendorfer Prize for Artist Books. This prize honors the best pop-up and movable artist book created in the past three years (January 1, 2015 to December 30, 2017). Download the entry form.
  • Emerging Paper Engineer Prize. This honor recognizes excellence in paper engineering among undergraduate and/or graduate students worldwide.  Entrants must be registered undergraduate or graduate students, or have just completed a course of study in the spring of 2018. Qualifying projects must include pop-up and/or movable structures and must have been created during a course of college study. Download the entry form.

Meggendorfer Prize for Best Paper Engineering Awards

Year Conference Location Recipient Book Title
2016 Boston, MA Shawn Sheehy Welcome to the Neighborwood
2014 Philadelphia, PA Matthew Reinhart Transformers: The Ultimate Pop-up Universe
2012 Salt Lake City, UT Ray Marshall Paper Blossoms
2010 Portland, OR Marion Bataille ABC3D
2008 Washington, DC Matthew Reinhart Star Wars Pop-up Guide to the Galaxy
2006 Chicago, IL David A. Carter One Red Dot: A Pop-up for Children of All Ages
2004 San Diego, CA Andy Baron Knick-Knack Paddywhack!
2002 Milwaukee, WI Robert Sabuda The Wonderful Wizard of Oz: A Classic Collectible
2000 New York City Robert Sabuda Cookie Count: A Tasty Pop-up
1998 Los Angeles, CA Robert Sabuda The Chirstmas Alphabet
1996 New Brunswick, NJ No award given


Meggendorfer Prize for Artist Books Awards

Year Recipient Title
2016 Graham Patten Call Me Trimtab
2014 Dorothy A. Yule Memories of Science
(See video of the book)


Emerging Paper Engineer Prize Awards

Year Recipient Educational Institution
2016 Nicholas Danish College for Creative Studies, Detroit, MI
2014 Kimberly Maher University of Iowa, Iowa City, IA


Life Time Achievement Award Prizes

Year Recipient Contribution
2000 Waldo Hunt, Intervisual Books Honored for “ushering in the Second Golden Age of Pop-ups.”